Alternatives When the Album Ain’t There

And so, what do we all do when we’re not listening to a prog album on CD? I am a physical media “old guy” so if it’s not a CD or vinyl than I’m thinking on-line prog (podcast or YouTube).

Well I don’t know what “we” do but I have my favorites which I’d like to share with you.

My first preference is the aforementioned YouTube if I can listen to a complete album that way; even searching it out track by track. I also have come to really appreciate Bandcamp and Progstreaming http://www.progstreaming.com/_wb/index.php for complete album appreciation. The “goodwill” that a band engenders from letting their music be heard in its entirety greatly motivates me to purchase the disc if I am at all interested. A “B” album on Bandcamp will be purchased by me more quickly than a disc tightly guarded and kept “under wraps” that may be of “A” or “A+” quality. It’s much like back in the day (circa 1979-1980) when Paul’s Records & Tapes in Topeka, Kansas, would let a shopper sit down and listen to a whole album on turntable and headphones. Good karma loosens the billfold.   Terrestrial radio? Forget about it. I’ve heard More Than a Feeling and (Don’t Fear) the Reaper (both of which I still like) more than enough times now.

I’m also not a big Pandora guy because since I refuse upgrades ($) I’ve got to be more responsive with my interacting than I can be at times. Not enough “thumbs up/down” and your station freezes.

So enough prattle… I recommend the following internet prog programs:

THE ANCIENT ONE: A weekly podcast by “The Ancient One,” (Jim Lawson, Isle of Skye) found at www.moremusicradio.uk/   Jim’s show plays a nice mix of classic prog as well as 2nd wave and modern stuff. He is an affable and likeable host.

LIVE FROM PROGZILLA TOWERS: Also a weekly podcast by Cliff Pearson. Cliff’s whole new internet radio network, PROGZILLA, looks to be the new nirvana for online listening. Check it out at http://www.progzilla.com/

THE DIVIDING LINE BROADCAST NETWORK: This long standing internet provider has been around since 2000 when Shawn Bishop started it up as primarily a Genesis listening vehicle. I have listened off & on since around 2004 and have seen many great prog programs and DJs come and go. The station has shrunk drastically and is but a shell of its former self. Still, several shows are high quality and deserve a check. I like Experiments in Mass Appeal with host A.J. “Gonzo” Giordano, The European Perspective with host David Elliot, and a long-time favorite, Underdog Prog with host Mary “Girl” Campbell (one of the sultriest voices online). http://www.thedividingline.com/schedule.html

One can also find lots of prog on Live365 but many of the stations are now V.I.P. only, which requires a monthly fee. My favorite free station is DJ Steve’s:  Koolkat’s Odd Sky http://www.live365.com/index.live#stations/koolkat2

These are all pretty nifty alternatives when you don’t have the CD at hand but are still Jonesin’ for some top notch prog.

Mellotron On!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

